ABMEC is a not-for-profit Association, funded by membership subscriptions. It is led by a Director General, Jane Isaacs, who manages the day to day running of the organisation with a team of specialist association staff, and reports to an elected Council.

A President and Vice President are elected. Both serve in their posts for two years.

General Council

The Council is made up of 10 member representatives; five standing members from the five companies with the largest turnover of mining equipment and five elected members.

Other committees exist to assist and develop Association policy and maintenance. These are:

Finance Committee

For budgeting, cash flow and expenditure approval.

Technical Committee

This group exists as a forum of member companies producing electrical and non-electrical equipment. This group reports and recommends safety issues following accidents or incidents, ensuring the highest product safety of equipment, particularly that operate in gaseous environments. Standards and certifications are examined and discussed, and representatives on the International Standards committees reports and give feedback.

ABMEC is an Accredited Trade Organisation (ATO) within the UKTI (United Kingdom Trade & Investment) and also an accredited contractor to the UKTI. This provides members with information relevant to sales opportunities, and funding for overseas missions and exhibitions.